Travel Diaries: A Tourist in Paris

Ah, the City of Love. To be honest, I wasn’t a huge fan of Paris before going there. I mean, I would want to go but it wasn’t on top of the countries-I-want-to-visit list. I always thought it was a cliché, what with all forms of art always depicting something about Paris — from music, movies, paintings, photographs..

But we were taught not to believe in something that we have no evidence for. After seeing the Eiffel Tower sparkle during our second night, I was in love. It’s like the city pulled me into its heart and made me see and feel and experience its beauty and splendor. I was enchanted, even more so on our second visit the year after but that’s for another post.

1.0

1.1

1.2

1.3

As I said in my first post about Paris 2011, our first full day in Paris was spent in the Louvre before our first concert at the Philippine Embassy. I also planned on meeting my parents there after not seeing them for two months. On our way out of the train station, someone was calling my name. It was my dad!! We were on the same train all along! As much as I was enjoying Europe with friends and singing, I have to admit that I missed being with my family as well 🙂

1.4

1.5

1.6

1.7

1.8

With Leslie, my housmate, and Tita Nora, our host, for both Paris 2011 and 2012 🙂

1.9

My parents

1.10

And my grandparents

1.11

Reunited and it feels (felt?) so good!

1.12

GC girls!

1.13

1.14

Musée du Louvre

1.15

1.16

1.17.2

1.17.1

About to start on our Louvre adventure 🙂

2.9

1.17

1.18

1.19

There was a thick crowd forming right in front of the Mona Lisa. It was actually just a small painting in the middle of the room.

2.0

2.1

2.2

2.3

2.4

2.5

2.6

2.7

2.8

On our second day, I went to Versailles with my family with a few friends while GC went on tours around Paris. Here are a few pictures from their tour around the Latin Quarters:

3.0

3.1

3.2

3.3

3.4

3.5

3.6

3.7

After our concert in the American Church of Paris, we passed by the Eiffel Tower.

3.8

4.0

3.9

It was magical. There’s no other word to describe it.

4.1

4.2

During our “Holy Day”, my family went to mass during our second service!

4.3

4.4

4.5

Our last church service was in St. Joseph’s Church near Arc de Triomphe. 

4.6

5.0

I met up with my family at Cathédrale Notre-Dame de Paris at around 9PM, just as the sun was sinking.

5.1

5.2

There were street performers outside the cathedral. First were hip-hop dancers then a duo of fire magicians (??) haha!

5.2.1

I watched with my cousin Auds!

5.3.1

5.3

It was their last night in Paris — my parents and my grandparents were going around Italy before going back home to the Philippines while my uncle and his family were going back to London. It was nice having the chance to see them after two months and spending Paris with them, especially with my parents who were there for the first time too.

My parents wanted to walk around Paris so they decided to go with us to Bastille.

5.4

5.5

5.6

5.7

Cathédrale Notre-Dame de Paris in the background

5.8

5.9

Notice the difference between the background of the two pictures above. I love how different the color of the sky was!

5.10

5.11

5.13

5.15

On our last day, after picnic in the park for lunch, we went straight to Disneyland. But I’ll show you some pictures of Sacré Cœur, Tour de Eiffel, and Moulin Rouge first!

6.0

6.1

6.2

View from Sacré Cœur

6.3

We were able to watch a cabaret show on our second time in Lido de Paris Cabaret in Champs-Élysées 🙂

6.4

6.5

The reason why I chose to go to Disneyland was because I really wanted to go to an amusement park. Haha! This is incomparable to Hong Kong Disneyland but I still managed to have fun despite only having 5 hours to go around. I was familiar with most of the rides already since I’ve been to Disney World in Florida but the magic of Disney was still there 🙂 I wish they updated the buildings and rides though. Some of them looked dilapidated and overused already.

7.0

7.1

7.2

7.3

7.4

7.5

Tour bud, Ate Marvs 🙂

7.6

7.7

7.8

7.9

I think Fiona bought this. So cute!

We went to Champs-Élysées to end our stay in Paris.

8.1

8.2

Oh Paris, I’m so lucky to have experienced your glamour and elegance. I’ll never get enough 🙂

Photos from Mari & Gorby

Leave a Reply

